HALAL & HARAM
WHAT IS HALAL?
Permitted, allowed, authorised, approved
HALAL & HARAM
The meaning of the word Halal is: “Permitted, allowed, authorised, approved, sanctioned, lawful, legal, legitimate or licit”.
When used in relation to products in any form whatsoever it means that it is permitted and fit for consumption by Muslims and Haram means that is not permitted and fit for consumption by Muslims.
A product is considered Halal if as a whole and in part is:
Free of, and not containing any substance or ingredient, taken or extracted from a Haram animal or ingredient.
Made processed, produced, manufactured and/or stored by using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that has been cleansed according to Islamic law.
Must never have come into contact with, touch or be close to a Haram substance during preparation, making, production, manufacture processing and/or storage.
The meaning of ‘Haram” is the opposite of Halal. i.e. not permitted etc.
A product is considered Haram if it comes into contact with or as a whole or in part contains:
Animals not slaughtered in a Halal manner.
Pigs, dogs, donkeys or carnivores.
Dead animal due to strangulation, a blow to the head (as in clubbing), a headlong fall, natural causes (carrion), being gored or attacked by another animal.
Animals having protruding canine teeth such as monkeys, cats, and lions.
Amphibious animals such as frogs and crocodiles.
Undesirable insects such as worms, flies and cockroaches.
Birds of pray with talons such as owls and eagles.
Alcohol, harmful substances, poisonous and intoxicating plants or drinks.